And then I took that month off…

…maybe it was just a week.  I haven’t updated since Oct 14, and that update really wasn’t much of anything, but I do know that I feel much, much better.

Cabo was amazing. We were in el Zona Hotelera of San Jose del Cabo, not Cabo San Lucas, but it’s all basically the same thing; there are shuttles everywhere and the whole place is VERY tourist-friendly. You’ll get a long update on all of that later.  It was amazing, did I mention that?  I haven’t felt this relaxed in a long time, and it’s making it easier to fight the depression (which is really what’s causing the lack of updates, this feeling of being stuck in some pool of too-dense water).  Pre-Cabo it was like I had to fight the lion bare-handed, now it’s like I’ve been handed a whip and chair.  That’s right, I’d rather refer to old-timey circus shenanigans than Gladiator Stuff, so go on and get the proper visual.

I’ve been reading a lot as well. Right now I’m getting through the Anita Blake series, and I’m on book 8 of 20.  Or something.  I spend most nights after work now just reading until it’s time for bed.  It’s very, VERY nice to lose myself in that sort of thing.

Anyway, this was the resort we stayed at:

This is during the first full day on the beach (that’s the Sea of Cortez in the background)


There was a LOT of hanging out at the pool. It was perfect. I don’t even normally hang out at pools. Yes, that is the sea in the background.

This was the view from our sitting area.

Mostly we just soaked up all the very, very chill vibe.  It was an extremely good week of feeling very content/full/buzzed/happy.

Beyond that, I’ve been trying to enjoy the afterglow of relaxation to the fullest, and not stress about anything.  I signed up for NaNoWriMo because A) why not and B) it seems like a good way to get my creative juices flowing again.  (You can find me as suzycupcakes if you’ve signed up as well.)  We got back last Thursday and I basically ignored the Internet for awhile, and that’s actually kind of a nice feeling.

I’m working very hard at ignoring all the political craziness around me, and would be much happier retreating right back to my poolside comforts.  That was another reason for signing up for NaNoWriMo – just to get myself away from all of it.  I am OVER politics.  Over the election.  Over people.  I’m definitely on hiatus from FB/Twitter for the next few days, which is kind of a double-edged sword: I use those things for artistic inspiration, but need to stay away because of all the noise going on.  Therefore…I’ll be writing.  Or trying to write.  And yes, if you got here via a link from my FB/Twitter, that’s because I have this blog set up to auto-post to those things, and I don’t feel like turning it off right now.  Who knows; maybe that means I’ll get back to blogging more.  Blogging is always fun.
Oh, I have also kind of been ignoring emails and notifications, because I felt like I was drowning in them. So if I owe you a response… sorry. It may be awhile.  It’s for the best though.  I’m sort of doing some self…assessments or something.  Just taking time for me, and trying not to feel guilty that I’m enjoying not spreading myself too thin for once (which I really did a lot of over the past 18 months or so).

So that’s me.  What’s up with you?

One thought on “And then I took that month off…

Get Your Comment On

