What Books Do You Like To Read, she said. It’s Just A Quick Trip To The Library, she said.

Someone online just asked me what books I like to read.  Rather than just say “all of them”, here’s my response.

– – – –

The better question here is what books DON’T I like to read… and that’s very few. I borrow about a dozen books per library trip – lots of fiction, ‘how to’, and reference style books. There are somewhere in the neighborhood of 800 books on my Kindle. some recent reads I can recall are the Dark Tower series, Game of Thrones series, and of course the constant re-reading of the Harry Potter & Lord of the Rings series. Last week a friend let me borrow Glenda Larke’s “The Last Stormlord” and I devoured it. Same friend let me borrow Gail Z. Martin’s “Chronicles of the Necromancer: The Summoner” and it’s ….aiight. The editing seems kind of poor but the story isn’t bad. I read Jane Eyre earlier this spring and fell in love.

I tried Pride & Prejudice & Zombies, and hated it. I tried Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter, and loved it. My work email has a folder for the chapter-a-day goodness that is DailyLit.com; filled mostly with the classics but also various autobiographies as well. Groucho Marx wrote some stellar, inspiring, hilarious things, and I have two books of his that I cherish. Henry Miller is up there for me as well; “Quiet Days in Clichy” is probably my favorite book EVER. I like books that can remove me from reality – books that I can just pick up and read a chapter and be inspired by. Hugh Prather has some good inspirational stuff; his books and “Mister God, This is Anna” changed my life.

I read a lot of blogs as well*, and write in several of mine quite frequently. Zen Habits is a nice one, and nailsbails is a good one that has a near-daily update (short and entertaining), but I admit to enjoying best the ones that are massive walls of text. TL:DR doesn’t work for me.

So…………. yeah, words are good food. 🙂

One of my favorite quotes: “You don’t write because you want to say something, you write because you have something to say.”
― F. Scott Fitzgerald

What about you?

 

*for anonymity, i left out some of my favorite people – Miss Cristy, Stacie Chadwick, Le Clown, etc – because that seems to swirl into my personal realm. i haven’t decided to allow the original questioner inside that circle just yet.

One thought on “What Books Do You Like To Read, she said. It’s Just A Quick Trip To The Library, she said.

Get Your Comment On

