All Things Great And Small And Injured

Lately it seems like all my thoughts should have a default #1stWorldProblems hashtag after them; I can’t stop thinking about it. For example:

“I don’t like ordering bananas in the Starbucks drive-thru because then I can’t choose one that looks less bruised.”
“It’s really tough to eat and drive at the same time, but I was in a hurry to get to work and needed something quickly.”
“My head hurts from looking at the computer too long.”
“The phone just wouldn’t stop ringing today from all the customers wanting to come in.”
“These fish oil capsules taste really bad, but I took them hoping to help my skin/nails/hair be a little less dry.”
“I have too many email accounts.”

It just. Doesn’t. Stop.

We know how ridiculous it is and yet… what has been seen (or heard) can’t be unseen (or unheard). See, there’s another one: “I’ve been looking at Twitter too long and have a hashtag stuck in my head, but at least it’s better than the 80’s song from earlier”.

Man. So… quick update.

J’s leg is slowly getting better. The x-rays showed that the reduction and alignment did what they were supposed to do, and the break should heal properly. Later on this week he’ll get fitted for a below-the-knee brace and will be able to finally bend his leg. From there, when calluses start forming around the bone, he’ll be able to start attempting to put weight on it on an ‘as-tolerated’ basis. That’s another 4 weeks or so before even considering that first attempt, but both he and the doctor are optimistic. It will be nice to get him to the point where he can at least carry things independently (like mugs with no lids, plates of food, etc).

This whole experience has been humbling for him I’m sure, and a wee bit more stressful on me than I anticipated. While it’s comforting to take care of him, there are times when I just don’t *want* to get up off the couch again. Or go to the store after just getting home because I forgot to pick up Item A and he really needs it right now.

I feel bad about even complaining at all, because this isn’t about me. This is about a grown man – 36 next month – who is now essentially dependent on me for basic needs. He can use the restroom on his own, but he can’t shower on his own. He can put food in the microwave but for the most part can’t carry it back. Yes, he’s on crutches, but it’s not an easy task to use crutches, hop, and carry things. There’s that whole part where your hands are occupied with holding the crutches.

I’m just very excited for the day when we can look back on this, and the good news is that it isn’t nearly as bad as it could be. He didn’t even have to be hospitalized overnight (though they strongly suggested it). It also has made me much more aware of handicapped people in general, even those with basic things like an arm in a sling, or a limp. People in wheelchairs or power scooters have also caught my eye lately. How do they maneuver? How do they shower? How do they go to the bathroom? Obviously there are ways for them to do so, but they’re most likely not easy or convenient. What about homeless people in wheelchairs, or homeless amputees? I can’t fathom. Especially thinking about people who have serious injuries and live alone, or are homeless. It’s been eye opening, and makes me appreciate all my mobility, first-world-ness and even my health (despite its less-than-greatness at present).

I was going to talk about some upcoming events and ideas I have, but that’s for another post. Time now for tea and sleep on my nice warm first world …couch. *sigh*

Get Your Comment On

