Counting to 5

Today I had to go to the dentist. It was less than pleasant, but much needed.

You know how the chairs kick back and you’re fairly comfortable, except for the part where they dig around in your mouth with sharp objects? Let’s just say that for about an hour and a half, it was me, reclining bound angle pose, and counting. If you temple your fingers and carefully touch the tips together, mentally counting each one in one long exhale – 1/2/3/4/5 complete exhale ~ inhale, hold ~ 1/2/3/4/5 complete exhale, the time passes very quickly.

Excluding a small panic attack and some uh, more than mild discomfort, yoga helped. An instructor once mentioned during savasana that if you are keeping the soles of your feet together (like in the bound angle pose above), the energy recirculates in your body. I don’t know how true that is, but it works for me, and that’s what counts.

Anyway.

My mouth hurts, but feels much cleaner. That has to count for something. This week’s goal: find a new dentist, get off the medication. I’m drained from all of the antibiotics and whatnot I’ve been taking for the past two weeks (but at least the general feeling of sickness and nausea is gone). My clarity …isn’t. I’m not drowsy, I’m exhausted.

Tomorrow’s goal is to either go to yoga class or walk on the beach in the morning. Most likely opting for a walk, as the Tuesday night class is a little more strenuous than I’m quite ready for.

Slowly but surely, I will be back. There are miles to go before I sleep.

Get Your Comment On

